What I learned from 6 weeks of no weigh-ins, plus my last meat meal for a month!

As previously mentioned, I just went 6 weeks without weighing in on a scale.  I’ve always thought of myself as being pretty objective with the scale usage; I thought it was just a tool to give me a number, and I didn’t think it controlled my emotions or actions. Man, was I wrong!

  • Within the first week, I was having dreams about weighing in.  Pretty crazy.  For something to be so ingrained that when I stop doing it in my waking life that it enters my dreams, that’s intense.
  • I felt like I NEEDED to know what the scale said.  Never mind that I could feel whether or not my shirt or pants were getting tight or loose.  Or that I owned a tape measure.  Or the other items that I’ve mentioned are ways to track progress.
  • But I also felt kind of free… but maybe too free.  While it was nice to be able to eat a peanut butter ball at Christmas and a couple of clementines and not see that sugar bloat show up on the scale, I think that not seeing that reaction may have led me to take more liberties than normal because I wasn’t going to see the damage for 6 weeks.

So, I think it was an interesting thing to do.  I’m at at the same weight I was 6 weeks ago, and that includes holiday gatherings and current bloat so I think I’ll still call success.  I also went from dancing between two shirt sizes to being definitely in the lower shirt size during those 6 weeks.  The scale isn’t going to stay in the closet anymore but I think I’ve gotten a healthier head about what the scale says.

To the topic of meat… tonight I had my last meat meal for a month!  We went to a local hole-in-the-wall burger joint and I had a bacon cheeseburger and took off the bun.  This place, like many burger places around here, puts butter on the burgers. Pure heaven.

Superhusband is still a little skeptical about this whole Vegetarian Challenge Month thing that I’m doing, and is definitely not participating.  I’m going to be doing some research finding some local places that are both veggie and meat friendly.  I was also thinking about some ground rules that I wanted to establish that some vegans and vegetarians may be wondering about:

  • I will still be eating cheese and eggs, so this is truly a vegetarian challenge, not a vegan challenge.  I’m sure I’ll be having some vegan dishes as I have vegan dishes several times a month.  Heck, hubby will probably be having his favorite accidentally vegan dessert some point soon.
  • I will not be eating any meat including fish or chicken during this challenge (cuuuz that wouldn’t be vegetarian).  I say this because some people still think that vegetarians eat fish.  I also won’t be using rendered animal fat.lamb
  • Going along with the last bullet point, there are some instances that restaurants use animal fat to make things taste yummier (like, rolling a baked potato in bacon fat).  If I’ve heard that a place does that with a dish, I won’t eat it.  However, I’m not going to go out of my way to find these things out.  This is mostly for my sanity.  I’m aware of this issue.
  • My exact ratios/carb counts may not be in total line with LCHF.  I’m going to work to keep my fats as high as possible, while still creating actual meals.  It’s one month.  Not a big deal.  The world will not end.

So there you go!  Starting tomorrow, for all of February, I will be meat-free.  Please feel free to comment with your favorite meat-free recipes to keep me fed! 😀

Tagged , ,

One thought on “What I learned from 6 weeks of no weigh-ins, plus my last meat meal for a month!

  1. good luck with you vegetarian month 🙂

Leave a Reply

LCHF America

Celebrating the joys of low carb and high fat in the land of the (fat) free.

Family Sport Life

Everyday Inspiration

Awesome Åshild

Did You Do A "Something Every Day" Today?

Dr. Jay's Blog

Low Carb and High Fat in the Land of the (Fat) Free

Archevore Blog

Low Carb and High Fat in the Land of the (Fat) Free

Rethinking Truth

Live. Love. Learn.

LCHF America

Low Carb and High Fat in the Land of the (Fat) Free

lowcarbhighfatblog.com

My LCHF lifestyle in Sweden....in English ;)

LCHF in deep fried Mars bar land

Ditching carbs for a better body.

LCHF Malta

Low Carb and High Fat in the Land of the (Fat) Free

