LCHF Fail: buttermilk fried chicken

Please note: this post doesn’t have any pictures of the actual chicken.  I did take some, but, they ended up getting deleted off the camera before I got around to creating this entry.  So, instead of pictures of my cooking disaster, I’ve provided some… alternate illustrations.  Enjoy!

I had a genius idea the other day.  I’d seen an episode of Good Eats where Alton Brown make buttermilk fried chicken.  Who doesn’t love buttermilk fried chicken?  The tender chicken, the crispy skin, the crunchy breading.  It takes a lot of work, but the end product is well worth it.  The problem, of course, is that it requires all-purpose flour, something that isn’t allowed with LCHF and I’m avoiding gluten so I don’t even want to splurge on it.  Then I thought… could almond flour be used as a substitute?

I recreated the recipe precisely, but just replaced the AP flour with almond flour and switched out the shortening for ghee.  I soaked the chicken pieces overnight in buttermilk, I created the necessary flouring/seasoning stations.  I had my trusted cast iron skillet all prepped and ready to go.  After breading the chicken, everything looked great, just like it would with AP flour.  Since I don’t have pictures of the actual process, I give you a picture of this cute bunny instead.

Okay. Back to the cooking.  I placed the chicken in the skillet exactly as outlined in the episode: thighs in the center, breast and drumsticks on the outside.  Oil came up exactly where it should and was at just the right temperature, sizzling away.  I flipped the chicken at the 12 minute mark.  This is where things started to go downhill.  Again, sorry for the lack of pictures, so here to make up for it I give you a picture of a jack o’ lantern.

 

 

 

English: A Jack-o'-lantern.

English: A Jack-o’-lantern. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The almond flour breading was REALLY dark.  It was a dark brown.  This probably would have been okay for a wheat-based flour, but nuts oxidize when subjected to heat for long periods of time.  I was starting to really regret this.  I’ve breaded boneless chicken before which cooks quickly, but bone-in chicken takes a lot longer to cook.

By the time the chicken finished cooking through, the breading was dark brown on all sides and could only be best described as “meh”.  It was not the heavenly crispy delicious fried chicken recreation I was hoping for.  The texture was wrong, the flavor was wrong, I was worried about the oxidation, and the chicken wasn’t moist anymore.  There are some things that just should be left behind, and fried chicken is one of them.  I will just continue to cook my awesome oven cast iron skillet chicken sans any breading.

Here. Have a cow.

Cow!

Cow! (Photo credit: StickerEsq)

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

LCHF America

Celebrating the joys of low carb and high fat in the land of the (fat) free.

Family Sport Life

Everyday Inspiration

Awesome Åshild

Did You Do A "Something Every Day" Today?

Dr. Jay's Blog

Low Carb and High Fat in the Land of the (Fat) Free

Archevore Blog

Low Carb and High Fat in the Land of the (Fat) Free

Rethinking Truth

Live. Love. Learn.

LCHF America

Low Carb and High Fat in the Land of the (Fat) Free

lowcarbhighfatblog.com

My LCHF lifestyle in Sweden....in English ;)

LCHF in deep fried Mars bar land

Ditching carbs for a better body.

LCHF Malta

Low Carb and High Fat in the Land of the (Fat) Free

