Spiralized Zucchini noodles

I had heard that you could get something called a Spiralizer and cut a zucchini into “spaghetti” noodles, and it would be so much like noodles that you wouldn’t miss the real thing.  Seemed bogus.  I adore zucchini, and I adore kitchen gadgets, so I bought one and gave it a try the other day.  If you google “Spiralizing” or “spiralizer” you will find all sorts of ideas, a lot of them from vegan or gluten free blogs, on how to use your new toy.  A great blog to check out is Inspiralized.

What can you cut?  Daikon, zucchini, kohlrabi, you can even cut up apples if you eat them occasionally as a treat.  The spiralizers do different shapes, not just noodle shapes.

I went simple for my first foray into spiralizing, and tried to recreated spaghetti and meatballs.  While my Boom Boom Meatballs were cooking and I had some homemade spaghetti sauce cooking in the crock pot (it was just crushed tomatoes, garlic, onion, spices, nothing fancy), I quick assembled, read the instructions for, and used the spiralizer.  Oh yeah, AND cooked the noodles.  All tate in 20 minutes it takes for the meatballs to cook.  No more stupid boiling water.  You just need a saute pan with a little olive oil or ghee in it and 3 minutes to get the zucchini to that al dente soft.  Got that?  Spiralize, saute, eat.  It was AMAZING.  I now understand why people love their spiralizers.

Do yourself a favor and wait until the price goes down to around 25 bucks though.  The link I have above (which, btw, I make no commission on) brings you right to the Amazon page, and if it is currently in the 30-40 range, don’t buy it yet!  Set yourself a price alert on camelcamelcamel.com for it to email you when it drops.  I love when my worlds of savings and food collide 🙂  Happy eating!  Please tell me if you end up getting a spiralizer, or if you already have one and love it!

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Spiralized Zucchini noodles

  1. susanklement says:

    This looks really good. I will have to keep an eye out for one of these. Maybe I can even get my kids to like the squash!

  2. […] always looking for a good excuse to use my spiralizer.  Really, who needs an excuse?  Zucchini pasta is so fantastic!    If you’re dairy-free, this recipe will work for you.  Homemade yogurt, […]

Leave a Reply

LCHF America

Celebrating the joys of low carb and high fat in the land of the (fat) free.

Family Sport Life

Everyday Inspiration

Awesome Åshild

Did You Do A "Something Every Day" Today?

Dr. Jay's Blog

Low Carb and High Fat in the Land of the (Fat) Free

Archevore Blog

Low Carb and High Fat in the Land of the (Fat) Free

Rethinking Truth

Live. Love. Learn.

LCHF America

Low Carb and High Fat in the Land of the (Fat) Free

lowcarbhighfatblog.com

My LCHF lifestyle in Sweden....in English ;)

LCHF in deep fried Mars bar land

Ditching carbs for a better body.

LCHF Malta

Low Carb and High Fat in the Land of the (Fat) Free

