A Long Day’s Stew

You know what I don’t wanna do after a long day?  Stand in front of a stove.  While I love a great slow cooked stew, I was just not in the mood today.  Today I needed a quick meal.  But I also needed stew.  It’s one of those perfect comfort foods, isn’t it?

Now, I’m going to tell you what I put into my Long Day’s Stew, but don’t let this limit you.  I used the tomato because that’s what I bought at the farmer’s market, I had some leftover (grassfed) stew meat from making chili probably two months ago still in the freezer that I wanted to use up, some beef stock, and some other odds and ends.  Stew is a great way to use up the leftovers in your fridge and freezer, so you don’t end up having to spend the end of your Long Day cleaning the fridge out.

One more note (sorry i’m rambling… remember, it’s been a long day), I was just cooking for one person.  Feel free to up the quantities as needed.

A Long Day’s Stew

One heirloom tomato, diced

1 cup beef stock

1/2 pound stew meat, chopped into bite sized cubes.  You can also use ground beef, or chicken

1 clove of garlic, minced

1 chili pepper, minced

1 T of olive or macadamia nut oil

Seasoning of your choice: I used some cumin, cayenne,  and chili powder.  Curry powder would also be delicious

 

Heat pan with deep enough sides for all ingredients on a medium setting.  Goal is to cook all ingredients in one pan, since no one wants to do dishes after a Long Day!  First up is the meat.  Place meat in pan, and brown on all sides. If using chicken, cook all the way through.  Once that is done, add oil, and the garlic.  Swish the meat and garlic around for a minute, then add the tomatoes and peppers.  Let those simmer for about 5 minutes while you go do something.  Now come back and add the beef stock and seasoning, and let it simmer for 10 more minutes.

When you are ready to eat, dish it into a bowl, and add some cheese if you’d like.  I added cheddar and feta.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

LCHF America

Celebrating the joys of low carb and high fat in the land of the (fat) free.

Family Sport Life

Everyday Inspiration

Awesome Åshild

Did You Do A "Something Every Day" Today?

Dr. Jay's Blog

Low Carb and High Fat in the Land of the (Fat) Free

Archevore Blog

Low Carb and High Fat in the Land of the (Fat) Free

Rethinking Truth

Live. Love. Learn.

LCHF America

Low Carb and High Fat in the Land of the (Fat) Free

lowcarbhighfatblog.com

My LCHF lifestyle in Sweden....in English ;)

LCHF in deep fried Mars bar land

Ditching carbs for a better body.

LCHF Malta

Low Carb and High Fat in the Land of the (Fat) Free

