Boom Boom Meatballs

Last night, SuperHusband and I sat around for almost an hour trying to decide what to have for dinner.  We tossed around the idea of tacos, parmesan-crusted chicken, bacon-wrapped chicken, burgers, and many other things.  Finally, I threw out the idea of meatballs.  I was hoping he wouldn’t say yes, because I have a bad history with meatballs.  The last time I made meatballs, they were horrible.  That was at my old apartment, before I met SuperHusband, when I had a really crappy stove that seemed to destroy half the things I made.  I was never really sure if it was the stove’s fault or me screwing up a recipe.

Well, SuperHusband said he wanted meatballs, so I was stuck facing my culinary fears yet again, and needing to find a way to make meatballs without breadcrumbs.  After raiding my freezer and pantry, I whipped up a batch of what I thought to be something pretty comparable to a “normal” meatball.  SuperHusband must have agreed, since this morning he asked me to make more, and even thawed out more meat before I even ate my breakfast!

My cooking is ruled by murphy’s law… this variation is “you will always have more meat than you have room in your pan for more meatballs”.

 

Boom Boom Meatballs

You will need:

  • 1 lb ground beef (80/20 will do)
  • 1 lb ground hot/spicy italian sausage (if you can’t find ground, slice open cased sausages, and you can use regular italian sausage)
  • 2/3 cup parmesan cheese
  • 1/3 cup almond flour
  • 1 egg
  • 1 T minced onion
  • 2 t garlic powder

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Mix all ingredients together well.  Form into golf-ball sized balls and place into large baking dish.  Bake for 20 minutes or until cooked through.  You can also saute in a pan on top of the stove until all sides are golden brown, but I had no patience in babysitting a pan last night.

See, wasn’t that simple?  I guarantee no one will know those meatballs are low carb and gluten free.  They are delicious on their own, with alfredo sauce, or with any other sauce you may like.  They are great the next day as well, if by some miracle there are any left over!

By the way, sorry for the lack of pictures.  I meant to take pictures of the meatballs… buuuut then I ate them.

Tagged

6 thoughts on “Boom Boom Meatballs

  1. […] for my first foray into spiralizing, and tried to recreated spaghetti and meatballs.  While my Boom Boom Meatballs were cooking and I had some homemade spaghetti sauce cooking in the crock pot (it was just crushed […]

  2. […] Boom Boom Meatballs (if you somehow managed to not eat them all last […]

  3. […] celebrated, I had a bacon and egg brunch with Superhusband, snacked on some pumpkin seeds, and had meatballs for dinner.  I might go crazy and eat an apple […]

  4. […] by itself.  I want what’s ON the bread.  Now, obviously this month I won’t be having meatballs, but my point is, eating the toppings off of a pizza are just as satisfying as eating the pizza […]

  5. Lisa says:

    These are awesome! Made the, twice now & I have a feeling they’ll be in solid rotation:)

  6. Selleena says:

    These are awesome, I make them a lot and eat them with no sauce. I wish I could get a nutrition count for them for myfitnesspal!

Leave a Reply

LCHF America

Celebrating the joys of low carb and high fat in the land of the (fat) free.

Family Sport Life

Everyday Inspiration

Awesome Åshild

Did You Do A "Something Every Day" Today?

Dr. Jay's Blog

Low Carb and High Fat in the Land of the (Fat) Free

Archevore Blog

Low Carb and High Fat in the Land of the (Fat) Free

Rethinking Truth

Live. Love. Learn.

LCHF America

Low Carb and High Fat in the Land of the (Fat) Free

lowcarbhighfatblog.com

My LCHF lifestyle in Sweden....in English ;)

LCHF in deep fried Mars bar land

Ditching carbs for a better body.

LCHF Malta

Low Carb and High Fat in the Land of the (Fat) Free

