Great low carb books

Cover of "Good Calories, Bad Calories: Fa...

Cover via Amazon

I’m a big reader.  When I was little, I slept with dozens of books in my bed (true story).  Whenever I’m getting into something I’m not familiar with, I try to do as much research as possible.  When I started on LCHF, I saw a lot of people mentioning the book Why We Get Fat: And What to Do About It and I immediately downloaded it to my Kindle and read the whole thing. I actually read it twice… the first time I read it, it was hard to digest, because it is such a paradigm shift from the low fat world we live in.

The next book I read was The Art and Science of Low Carbohydrate Living: An Expert Guide to Making the Life-Saving Benefits of Carbohydrate Restriction Sustainable and Enjoyable. Some of the content is the same as “Why We Get Fat”, but I felt like it was nice hearing some additional information from different authors (in this case, actual doctors). Both “Why We Get Fat” and “The Art and Science” are chock-full of citations, unlike a bunch of other “guesswork” diet books.

I’ve read both the “NDR” Dr. Atkins book as well as the new “New Atkins For A New You” book, and I think the books are a really friendly way of introducing the idea of insulin resistance to the masses, and Dr. Atkins really did America a favor by bringing the concept of low carb back. I don’t follow his plan and find some of the steps a little arbitrary, but I would never fault anyone for following the Atkins plan. I’m NOT a fan of the Atkins “frankenfoods” that are on the market right now though.

Lastly, I worked my way backwards and read Gary Taubes precursor to “Why We Get Fat”, which is Good Calories, Bad Calories: Fats, Carbs, and the Controversial Science of Diet and Health. This book is a lot more dense of a read than “Why We Get Fat”, but gave me additional “a-ha” information to really feel confident in continuing on my LCHF path.

I’m still on the lookout for more great low carb books… what are your favorites? Please comment! Please also list your favorite low carb cookbooks, I’m looking to get more!

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

LCHF America

Celebrating the joys of low carb and high fat in the land of the (fat) free.

Family Sport Life

Everyday Inspiration

Awesome Åshild

Did You Do A "Something Every Day" Today?

Dr. Jay's Blog

Low Carb and High Fat in the Land of the (Fat) Free

Archevore Blog

Low Carb and High Fat in the Land of the (Fat) Free

Rethinking Truth

Live. Love. Learn.

LCHF America

Low Carb and High Fat in the Land of the (Fat) Free

lowcarbhighfatblog.com

My LCHF lifestyle in Sweden....in English ;)

LCHF in deep fried Mars bar land

Ditching carbs for a better body.

LCHF Malta

Low Carb and High Fat in the Land of the (Fat) Free

