Around the Web: The Oleo Wars

“The Oleo Wars: Wisconsin’s Fight over the Demon Spread”

My late grandmother was very religious.  I never heard her swear.  If she recorded movies with her VCR, she’d edit out any “inappropriate” scenes or language.  So imagine my surprise when my mother told me that she smuggled contraband into the state.

Back in the day, oleomargarine, now just called margarine, was not sold in Wisconsin.  We are a big dairy state, and margarine is not made from dairy products.  There was a lot of argument back and forth about the health effects of margarine vs butter, lots of politics, and for that I’ll point you to the link above.  It really is fascinating.  But imagine how funny it is that 60 years ago my grandmother was driving out of state to smuggle in margarine, and now I saute in butter!  How the world changes.

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Around the Web: The Oleo Wars

  1. […] and can only serve margarine upon request of the customer.  I’ve talked before about how margarine used to even be banned in the state until the 60′s, but this butter law remains.  I’m grateful for it because I know I can always get real […]

Leave a Reply

LCHF America

Celebrating the joys of low carb and high fat in the land of the (fat) free.

Family Sport Life

Everyday Inspiration

Awesome Åshild

Did You Do A "Something Every Day" Today?

Dr. Jay's Blog

Low Carb and High Fat in the Land of the (Fat) Free

Archevore Blog

Low Carb and High Fat in the Land of the (Fat) Free

Rethinking Truth

Live. Love. Learn.

LCHF America

Low Carb and High Fat in the Land of the (Fat) Free

lowcarbhighfatblog.com

My LCHF lifestyle in Sweden....in English ;)

LCHF in deep fried Mars bar land

Ditching carbs for a better body.

LCHF Malta

Low Carb and High Fat in the Land of the (Fat) Free

