One size does not fit all

Our shirts come in different sizes.  So do our shoes, our hats, our pants.  There are different medication dosages depending on height and weight.  We have classes for students were are both learning disabled as well as gifted in addition to the regular classes.

Why do nutritionists keep trying to fit everyone into the same box?

I’ve been to a nutritionist twice in my life.  Neither were in the same office, but I had an identical experience.  They presented me with a printout of a low-fat, 1200-1500 calorie diet to follow.  They had the sheets printed before they’d even heard my weight struggles or heard my history.  It is the same printout they give to all their patients regardless of their current height or weight or metabolic state.

For me personally, I know that LCHF works great.  I can trust my appetite to not be “just the carbs talking”, I get true satisfaction from my food, I feel incredibly energetic and awake, I’m losing weight very steadily despite eating bacon every day and eating what some would find an alarming amount of cheese, and I’m HAPPY.  My experience on a low fat diet is this: I had to count every single solitary calorie, a lot of days I was hungry and would be sitting very antsy waiting for my next food (reminded me of an addict, which I was!), and I felt mood swingy.  I was still losing weight on low fat but it was a lot of work.  LCHF is almost effortless and is a joy.  I get excited talking about it.  That’s why I created this blog, I’ve shared my joy of losing so much that I wanted to have a central forum.

Now, I can only speak for myself.  There are people out there that have different bodies than me.  Some are happier on paleo, some are happier on low fat, some are happier eating vegan, some are happier living off of bugs and bark.  You have to find what diet works for your body and makes you happy.

Even within a predefined diet, you need to find what works for your body and makes you happy. I was discussing this with my sister who also does LCHF.  We talked about artificial sweeteners.  Now, some people can eat artificial sweeteners all day and it never seems to affect their blood sugar, never kicks them out of ketosis.  Some people have any artificial sweetener and it spikes their blood sugar.  For a lot of people, it depends on the kind of sweetener and how much.  It is trial and error to find out what your body can handle.  Or, of course, you can skip them altogether.  Here’s why all this talk about the way we process artificial sweeteners is important: a lot of prepackaged low carb foods list sugar alcohols as “zero net carbs” but your body may not treat them as such.  That label is trying to make you One Size Fits All, and you may suffer because of it!  You may think you did so good today because you only ate 20 carbs but that innocent “zero carb” meal bar really added another 20 carbs to your day.  That may be enough to kick you out of ketosis.

If you are losing weight on a low fat diet and you’re happy and don’t want to eat low carb, that’s totally fine.  That may be what your body wants.  But if you struggle on low fat, or just never seem to be able to lose any weight no matter how hard you try, stop trying to fit into the nutritionist’s One Size Fits All printout.  Play around with your diet.  And if you have the unfortunate experience of having a doctor who has a problem with low carb, it may be time to get a second opinion.  (Or lie!  They probably won’t be able to tell!)

Happy eating, and be well!

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

LCHF America

Celebrating the joys of low carb and high fat in the land of the (fat) free.

Family Sport Life

Everyday Inspiration

Awesome Åshild

Did You Do A "Something Every Day" Today?

Dr. Jay's Blog

Low Carb and High Fat in the Land of the (Fat) Free

Archevore Blog

Low Carb and High Fat in the Land of the (Fat) Free

Rethinking Truth

Live. Love. Learn.

LCHF America

Low Carb and High Fat in the Land of the (Fat) Free

lowcarbhighfatblog.com

My LCHF lifestyle in Sweden....in English ;)

LCHF in deep fried Mars bar land

Ditching carbs for a better body.

LCHF Malta

Low Carb and High Fat in the Land of the (Fat) Free

