Why go LCHF?

I get asked a LOT of questions from people about my diet.  Low carb isn’t a new thing anymore, but it still raises eyebrows.  I get a lot of “but carbs are so delicious!” and “aren’t you worried about your heart?”.  Yes, I agree that carbs are delicious *pause for dramatic effect*… but 1)that’s sort of the problem, they become an addiction and 2)I don’t need them.    As far as the “heart” worries, I direct them to read “Good Calories, Bad Calories”, and so far no one has made it through the entire book to debate it with me so I’m safe for now 😀

For my low carb creds, let me give you the rundown: I’ve lost 52 lbs.  I’ve got a long way to go.  But that’s a lot of weight.  I keep my carb count under 30 carbs/day.  I’m not afraid of butter, heavy cream, fatty meat, and I’ve been known to sear my steak in bacon lard (try it, it’s amazing).

If you’re reading this and you live in the US and you decide to start going low carb, the first few weeks will feel ridiculous because every ounce of you is going to fight the amount of fat that you’re eating.  You see Subway commercials bragging about how low in fat their subs are, there are fat free salad dressings (loaded with sugar, of course) lining the shelves, and if you can find a single kind of yogurt with more than 2% milkfat on your grocery store shelf i’d be shocked.   If you try to do low carb AND low fat, you are going to want to chew off your own arm.  The fat is your fuel, and it is what satisfies you.  Satiety is what low fat diets lack.  It’s why you can eat 3 cubic feet of salad drowned in fat free dressing and still be starving.  I used to be able to eat a double cheeseburger and a large fry and still be hungry.  Now I can eat the double cheeseburger without the bun and be completely satisfied and not want to eat anything for hours.

So, with time I’m going to post resources, recipes, keep everyone updated on my own weight loss, hopefully get some guest posts in here, and allow the voices of those following LCHF to be heard.

Live well!

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Why go LCHF?

  1. Ha ha – I can completely relate to your post. I started the LCHF lifestyle one month ago for pure health reasons. However, the amount of fat that I was introducing to my diet in the beginning really worried me – I had to really fight my initial reaction. One month down the road…bring on that full fat yoghurt and cream 🙂

    • I just read your 30 day update… great accomplishment! I obviously sympathize with the difficulty of doing this in the land of high carbs. I too make an amazing risotto (mine is a bacon risotto… I seem to have a bacon fetish). I think your tendency towards travels puts you in a unique opportunity to educate on what LCHF opportunities are out there in different cultures. I’m glad you’re giving it a try for another month! Keep up the blog, and thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

LCHF America

Celebrating the joys of low carb and high fat in the land of the (fat) free.

Family Sport Life

Everyday Inspiration

Awesome Åshild

Did You Do A "Something Every Day" Today?

Dr. Jay's Blog

Low Carb and High Fat in the Land of the (Fat) Free

Archevore Blog

Low Carb and High Fat in the Land of the (Fat) Free

Rethinking Truth

Live. Love. Learn.

LCHF America

Low Carb and High Fat in the Land of the (Fat) Free

lowcarbhighfatblog.com

My LCHF lifestyle in Sweden....in English ;)

LCHF in deep fried Mars bar land

Ditching carbs for a better body.

LCHF Malta

Low Carb and High Fat in the Land of the (Fat) Free

