Biometric screening results

I went in for a biometric screening yesterday.  They measure your height, weight, BMI, blood sugar, total cholesterol, LDL, HDL, triglycerides, blood pressure, and waist circumference.  I was curious to see what the cholesterol and triglyceride readings looked like, with all this meat and butter and such that I’m eating.  I’ve also read that when you first start to lose weight, your cholesterol can temporarily go up.

Blood test results:

  • Total cholesterol: 143
  • LDL: 89
  • HDL: 35
  • Triglycerides: 90
  • Blood sugar (glucose): 87
  • Blood pressure (using too small of a cuff, even!): 122/82

Not too shabby!  Guess all that meat and butter is totally fine!  Last fall my HDL was 40 when I wasn’t dieting, so it’s close to what it was then.  Since I’m still actively losing weight, I can’t put too much stock into the value.  There are countless studies all over the web that show how people’s cholesterol levels improved or stayed optimal on LCHF.  Your body evolved to digest real food.

Also, apparently low carb makes me taller.  The nurse said i’m 5’9 1/2″, not 5’8 1/2″.  (or maybe she wasn’t tall enough to properly see the top of my head… i’m going with “low carb makes me taller” because it sounds funnier.)

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Biometric screening results

  1. […] Back in May, I went in for a biometric screening.  That’s when they do some checks on some basic measures of health like your height, weight, BMI, total cholesterol, HDL, LDL, triglycerides, fasting blood sugar, blood pressure, and waist circumference.  In May, everything checked out great.  I’d only been doing LCHF for a few months though… wonder what another 2 months did for my measurements? […]

Leave a comment

Awesome Åshild

Did You Do A "Something Every Day" Today?

Dr. Jay's Blog

Low Carb and High Fat in the Land of the (Fat) Free

Archevore Blog

Low Carb and High Fat in the Land of the (Fat) Free

LCHF America

Low Carb and High Fat in the Land of the (Fat) Free

lowcarbhighfatblog.com

My LCHF lifestyle in Sweden....in English ;)

LCHF in deep fried Mars bar land

Ditching carbs for a better body.

LCHF Malta

Low Carb and High Fat in the Land of the (Fat) Free